Majority MPs Recuse Themselves : Ken Agyapong Hearing Suspended


Three majority members of Parliament’s privileges committee have decided to recuse themselves from the hearing of contempt case brought against the Assin Central MP Kennedy Agyapong.

The decision brought the work of the committee to a halt Tuesday, July 3.

The MPs, Gomoa Central MP Naana Ayiah, Agona West MP Cynthia Morrison and Samuel Nsowa-Djan in a letter argued that the accused is their caucus leader and therefore cannot be objective in dealing with the case.

This letter together with other objections were raised by Effutu MP Alexander Afenyo Markin and Adansi Asokwa MP KT Hammond who represented Mr. Agyapong.

Chairman for the committee Joseph Osei Owusu initially rejected all the objections of the two lawyers but upon persistent arguments from the legal team for Mr Agyapong, the letter from the three MPs from the Central region which was earlier rejected was accepted.

This brought proceedings to an abrupt halt.

The maverick politician appearing before the House refused to sit beside the Asawase MP as arranged by the committee.

Lawyers for Mr. Agyapong – KT Hammond and Alexander Afenyo-Markin – also members of the House, refused to sit by the complainant.

Mr. Agyapong is accused of making disparaging remarks against parliament and Mr. Mensah-Bonsu, describing the House as “useless” for having the MP for Suame as its leader.

He may be sanctioned based on the outcome of the probe by the Privileges Committee. A prima facie case was established against the maverick MP after opposition MP Muntaka Mubarak reported him to the House.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here